Will Todd: Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland


11-year-old Alice lives in the not terribly exciting town of Grimthorpe. On a boring Wednesday in the summer holidays Alice’s family, wandering around town, gets caught in a downpour. They rush into the nearest shelter, which turns out to be a pet shop – much to Alice’s parents’ delight. Alice is lost in a daydream of exotic holidays… Suddenly she is jolted out of her reverie by one of the animals – a white rabbit – who starts talking to her…

Opera Holland Park’s production of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, a family opera by composer Will Todd and librettist Maggie Gottlieb, comes to CD for the first time after two critically praised runs in 2013 and 2014.

The cast sing with impeccable diction, the players never drowning out the voices – Arts Desk

The cast, headed by Fflur Wun as Alice, and orchestra, conducted by Matthew Waldren, put on a good show Gramophone

Will Todd’s Lewis Carroll-inspired opera has proved a huge success both on stage and on disc BBC Music Magazine

The recorded sound is excellent…a release of many pleasures Opera Magazine

 iTUNES  Spotify

Opera Holland Park

Will Todd

RELEASE DATE: 29/06/2015
BARCODE: 635212042021

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland

1. Overture

2. Nice Weather for Rabbits

3. Victorian Quartet, “Where Did She Go?”

4. Down the Rabbit Hole

5. Drink Me!

6. Humpty’s New Curriculum

7. An Unsatisfactory Explanation

8. Victorian Quartet, “Pillarcat!”

9. The Wonderland Blues

10. Victorian Quartet, “Teatime!”

11. The Mad Hatter’s Tea Party

12. The Tea was a Trap!

13. The Queen of Hearts (Off With Their Heads!)

14. Alice Alone

15. I Flew High in My Dreams

16. A White Knight

17. The Lovelorn Duchess

18. Victorian Quartet, “I say!”

19. Rollin’…

20. Love Song with Hats

21. Wonderland Restored

22. It Was All True!

You may also like…