Verdi Requiem


Signum Records are proud to present the first release in a new series of live orchestral recordings featuring the illustrious St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra, led by their chief conductor Yuri Temirkanov. These new recordings have been made possible thanks to the recent refurbishment of their home concert venue, the Grand Philharmonic Hall, allowing many of us to hear for the first time the excitement of the Philharmonic’s performances in their resident city of St Petersburg. This release will be followed later in the year with their live performance of Shostakovich’s Symphony No. 7 (Leningrad).

The orchestra moved like a single unit, swelling and surging, natural rubato raising tension, pacing and placing impeccably judged – The Independent

This is a full-blooded performance of Verdi’s late work … Full marks for passion – The Daily Telegraph

[Temirkanov] has been in charge of the St Petersburg Philharmonic since 1988 and the orchestra plays splendidly for him here. What particularly marks out the performance is his attention to dynamics – Classic FM Magazine

Yuri Temirkanov’s mature and considered performance wears its own character with pride, rather than complying with any perfectionist norm. The reading sounds Russian: dark and edgy – The Sunday Times

 iTUNES  Spotify

St Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra
Yuri Temirkanov conductor

RELEASE DATE: 11/01/2010
BARCODE: 635212018422


1. No.1 Requiem

2. No.2 (i) Dies Irae

3. No.2 (ii) Tuba Mirum

4. No.2 (iii) Liber scriptus

5. No.2 (iv) Quid sum miser

6. No.2 (v) Rex tremendae

7. No.2 (vi) Recordare

8. No.2 (vii) Ingemisco

9. No.2 (viii) Confutatis

10. No.2 (ix) Lacrymosa


1. No. 3 Offertorio

2. No. 3 Hostias

3. No.4 Sanctus

4. No. 5 Agnus Dei

5. No. 6 Lux aeterna

6. No. 7 Libera me

You may also like…

Go to Top