Thomas Tallis: The Complete Works – Volume 2


This disc is the second in a series of nine covering the complete works of Thomas Tallis (c.1505-1585).

As the 1540s developed, the Reformation began to take hold and the style of music required from composers such as Tallis altered radically. The large-scale melismatic votive antiphons (for example those on disc 1) were no longer required; the emphasis moved away from Marian devotion to a more syllabic and compact style and, eventually, to settings of English rather than Latin texts. Disc two traces this development from the Jesus antiphon Sancte Deus, to the mass for four voices, the three early English anthems including If ye love me, the Te Deum for meanes and the Elizabethan Magnificat and Nunc dimittis.

A stimulating second volume in this distinguished series – Penguin Guide to Compact Discs

A beautiful homogeneous quality and are pure and uncomplicated – Footloose Magazine

 iTUNES  Spotify

Chapelle du Roi

Alistair Dixon

RELEASE DATE: 25/09/1997
BARCODE: 635212000229

1. Magnificat

2. Nunc Dimittis

3. Sancte Deus

4. Conditor: Kyrie

Mass for four voices

5. Gloria

6. Credo

7. Sanctus

8. Benedictus

9. Agnus Dei

10. Remember not, O Lord God

11. Hear the voice and prayer

12. If ye love me

13. A new commandment

14. Benedictus

15. Te deum for meanes

You may also like…

Go to Top