Widor: The Organ Symphonies, Vol.4


The fourth volume in our series of Charles-Marie Widor’s Organ Symphonies, performed by Joseph Nolan on the magnificent Cavaillé-Coll organ of L’église de la Madeleine, Paris. Bridging the generations from Mendelssohn to Messiaen, Empire to Republic, Widor was born to the organ. His Lyonnaise kinsfolk were organ-builders, he showed early talent for the instrument, and for decades was the embodiment of its might and splendour across the Gallic domain – his ‘Organ Symphonies’ were genre-defining in their influence

Joseph Nolan is an internationally renowned organist, acclaimed as ‘brilliant and such an astute musician’ (Gramophone UK). He was appointed to Her Majesty’s Chapels Royal, St James’s Palace in 2004, and has since been invited to perform and record in some of the world’s premiere venues – including the refurbished Organ of Buckingham Palace Ballroom (SIGCD114) and the Organ of Saint- Sulpice in Paris (SIGCD167).

Recordings of the Year 2014: Joseph Nolan’s cycle of the Widor organ symphonies has certainly been a continuing highlight in the past couple of years, blowing away some of the cobwebs of tradition with a completely individual and often remarkably revealing attitude to tempi. Performer, instrument and recording achieve superlative synergy in every volume – MusicWeb International

The latest volume in Joseph Nolan’s swirling, swashbuckling Widor series showcases the tangy palette and earthy roar of the fabulous Cavaille-Coll organ at La Madeleine, Paris. In a word – glorious! – BBC Music Magazine

Those who have been following the series will know by now what to expect and need have no reservations about adding Volume 4  to their collection, and both Nolan and Signum can only be commended for their continued commitment – International Record Review



 iTUNES  Spotify

Joseph Nolan organ

RELEASE DATE: 17/02/2014
BARCODE: 635212033722


Organ Symphony No.7 in A minor, Op.42 No.3

1. I. Moderato

2. II. Choral: Andante

3. III. Andante – Allegretto

4. IV. Allegro non troppo

5. V. Largo

6. VI. Finale: Allegro Vivace


Organ Symphony No.8 in B major, Op.42 No.4

1. I. Allegro risoluto

2. II. Moderato cantabile

3. III. Allegro

4. IV. Variations: Andante

5. V. Adagio

6. VI. Finale: Tempo giusto

You may also like…

Go to Top