Wanderer Fantasy


Schubert’s ‘Wanderer Fantasy’ and Schumann’s ‘Fantasie’ are two highly remarkable works: whilst musically embodying the romantic spirit of the age in their unconventional structures and lyrically imaginative styles, they also act as self-portraits to their creators through the evocation of the creative process.

In these new orchestrations by Joeseph James, the familiar beauty of the works is rekindled in the exciting and fresh interpretations performed by the illustrious English Chamber Orchestra alongside concertante solos from members of the Schubert Ensemble. The performances are directed by the exceptional young conductor, Orlando Jopling.

Featured instrumentalists from the Schubert Ensemble include Simon Blendis (violin), Jane Salmon (cello), Peter Buckoke and Stephen Williams (double basses).

A magnificent work, extremely convincing, which allows the two greatest piano fantasies of the 19th century to be listened to with a different ear – Abeille Musique
 iTUNES  Spotify

English Chamber Orchestra

Members of the Schubert Ensemble

Orlando Jopling conductor

RELEASE DATE: 01/03/2007
BARCODE: 635212009529

Wanderer Fantasy (after Schubert)

1. Allegro con fuoco ma non troppo

2. Adagio

3. Presto

4. Allegro

Fantasie (after Schumann)

5. Durchaus phantastisch und leidenschaftlich vorzutragen

6. Mässig: Durchaus energisch

7. Langsam getragen. Durchweg leise zu halten

You may also like…

Go to Top