Vivaldi: The Four Seasons


With its vivid poetry and technical ingenuity, Vivaldi’s Four Seasons was ground breaking at the time of its release and to this day remains as influential and transfixing as ever. In this recording, violinist Kati Debretzeni directs the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment in an energetic, historically informed performance. From the commanding heat of the Summer sun, to Winter’s foreboding darkness, the power of Vivaldi’s masterpiece is inescapable.

The booklet includes a ‘Guided tour of the Four Seasons’, allowing listeners to follow the poetry that inspired Vivaldi as they hear the performances on the disc, including additional composer’s notes from Vivaldi’s own scores.

This is a recording of the evergreen Four Seasons to remember and return to. The playing is sublime. Kati Debretzeni is a breath of fresh air at any time of the year. The chamber ensemble from the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment, led here by Alison Bury, includes a core of players that has been there from its formation who continue to play with the same joyful camaraderie and artistic precision – Gramophone

Debretzeni sets out to highlight the descriptive aspect of the music by finding many more colours and contrasts in the orchestral texture than are usually heard, and the period instruments give the familiar movements a new attack, making the work sound as fresh today as the day it was written – Classic FM

This is probably one of the noteworthy period-instrument ‘Seasons’ recordings – Early Music Review


 iTUNES  Spotify

Kati Debretzeni violin / director

Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

RELEASE DATE: 07/04/2014
BARCODE: 635212037720

Concerto No.1 in E Major, Op.8, RV 269, “La Primavera” (Spring)

1. I. Allegro

2. II. Largo e pianissimo sempre

3. III. Danza Pastorale: Allegro

Concerto No.2 in G Minor, Op.8, RV 315, “L’estate” (Summer)

4. I. Allegro non moto

5. II. Adagio – Presto

6. III. Presto

Concerto No.3 in F Major, Op.8, RV 293, “L’autunno” (Autumn)

7. I. Allegro

8. II. Adagio molto

9. III. Allegro

Concerto No.4 in F Minor, Op.8, RV 297, “L’inverno” (Winter)

10. I. Allegro non molto

11. II. Largo

12. III. Allegro

You may also like…

Go to Top