Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending


British violinist Tamsin Waley-Cohen – described by the late Ruggiero Ricci following a masterclass as the “most exceptionally gifted young violinist I have ever encountered” – adds to her already prodigious reputation with a new disc of timeless works for strings by Ralph Vaughan Williams and Edward Elgar.

Joined again the the Orchestra of the Swan under David Curtis, the centre piece of the programme is an enchanting performance of Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending.

Her sense of line and capacity to make things happen are both beautiful and strikingly individual … The Lark Ascending‘s opening solo searches out an extreme degree of musical space in a way that’s at once daring and mesmerisingBBC Music Magazine

Superlative performances of Vaughan Williams’ The Lark Ascending … Highly recommended – Northern Echo

This double homage to strings and English composers is engrossingly good – Sinfini Music

 iTUNES  Spotify

Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin
Orchestra of the Swan
David Curtis conductor

RELEASE DATE: 29/09/2014
BARCODE: 635212039922

Concerto for Violin and String Orchestra

Ralph Vaughan Williams

1. I. Allegro pesante

2. II. Adagio – Tranquillo

3. III. Presto

4. Introduction and Allegro, Op.47 Edward Elgar

Serenade for Strings, Op.20

Edward Elgar

5. I. Allegro piacevole

6. II. Larghetto

7. III. Allegretto

8. The Lark Ascending Ralph Vaughan Williams 

You may also like…

Go to Top