Timelapse: Orchestra of the Swan


Timelapse creates a space where sounds of the past and present collide to form a unique musical landscape. Although the pieces were written, in some cases, centuries apart and in culturally disparate eras, it is striking how much these contrasting works inhabit such similar emotional territory. Intriguing pairings of works by Rameau and Radiohead, Schubert and The Smiths, Adés and Grieg, Satie and Reich, compliment each other beautifully in the context of Timelapse. This recording by Orchestra of the Swan provides a place where notions of time and style have become irrelevant.


Orchestra of the Swan

Release date: 22/01/21

Catalogue number: SIGCD662

Barcode: 635212066225


1. Sleep Softly – Franz Schubert (1797-1828)/ David Le Page (b.1971)

2. Air – Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)

3. Les Barricades Mystérieuses – François Couperin (1668-1733) arr. Le Page

4. Duet – Steve Reich (b.1936)

5. O Albion – Thomas Adès (b.1971)

6. Sleep 1 – Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)/Trish Clowes (b.1984)

7. Gnossienne No. 1 – Erik Satie (1886-1925) arr. Le Page

8. Pyramid Song – Yorke/Greenwood/Greenwood/Selway/O’Brien (Radiohead) arr. Le Page

9. Les Boréades (Entrée pour les Muses, les Zéphyres, les Saisons, les Heures et les Artes) – Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764)

10. Sleep 2 – Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)/David Gordon (b.1965)

11. Heroes – David Bowie (1947-2016)/Brian Eno (b.1948) arr. Le Page

12. Chorale – Errollyn Wallen (b.1958)

13. There Is A Light That Never Goes Out – Johnny Marr (b.1963) arr. Le Page

14. Three Pieces in Old Style (3rd movement) – Henryk Górecki (1933-2010)

Go to Top