Thomas Tallis: The Complete Works – Volume 5


This disc is the fifth in a series of nine that covers Thomas Tallis’s complete surviving output from his five decades of composition. In this disc we continue to explore the choral music of the Divine Office, progressing with the choral hymns and responories not found in volume 4.

Music for the Divine Office  is completed with Tallis’s liturgical organ music: five hymns and three antiphons for the Divine Office, an Alleluia for the Lady Mass and an extended setting of the offertory Felix Namque.

Tallis’s written music for the liturgy is modest in style, inventive and very appealing. His surviving output of written keyboard music is very small in light of his reputation. It is possible that much of this written music has been lost, and even more likely that the majority of his keyboard performances were improvised, and therefore not strictly notated. This CD offers reconstructions based on what is known of liturgical practice at the time when this music was most probably written (the later years of Henry VIII and those of Queen Mary I).

Recording the organ works of Tallis involves a number of difficult decisions, not least the choice of organ, as there are no surviving English organs from the sixteenth century. The organ in the late medieval private chapel of Knole, a vast country house in Kent, is arguably the oldest playable organ in England. It’s joints can sound rather rattley, and it has some trouble breathing at times (although the regular creak of the bellows being pumped by foot is a reassuring link with the pre-electric past). However, the sound of this organ in the Knole chapel acoustic might not be far off from what Tallis knew from inside the Chapel Royal.

Once again Chapelle du Roi presents an inspired and historically informed performance of the sacred renaissance repertoire for which they are celebrated.

★★★★★ The singing is shapely and serene with a satisfying edge, and the recorded sound is generous without obscuring detail – Choir & Organ

★★★★ Beautiful contemplative music – The Times

★★★★ [A] magnificent recording – Goldberg Magazine

 iTUNES  Spotify

Chapelle du Roi

Andrew Benson Wilson organ

RELEASE DATE: 10/06/2002
BARCODE: 635212001622

1. Audivi Vocem de Coelo

2. Candidi Facti Sunt

3. Honor Virtus et Potestas

4. Homo Quidam Fecit Coenam

5. Te Lucis Ferial

6. Te Lucis Festal

7. Natus Est nobis hodie

8. Veni Redemptor genitum

9. Jam Lucis orto sidere

10. Ex more docti mistico

11. Ecce tempus idoneum

12. Magnificat & Clarifica me pater

13. Clarifica me pater (II)

14. Clarifica me pater (III)

15. Gloria Tibi Trinitas

16. Alleluia: Per te Dei genitrix

17. Felix Namque (II)

You may also like…

Go to Top