Thomas Tallis: The Complete Works – Volume 4


This disc is the fourth in a series of nine covering the complete works of Thomas Tallis (c.1505-1585). Not for nothing is Tallis known as the “father of church music” – with his colleagues at the Chapel Royal he created most of the church music genres that we take for granted today.

Volumes 4 and 5 both focus on music written for the office hours – the daily services found mainly in the monasteries that eventually suffered at the hands of Henry VIII’s dissolution. Here we have a selection of hymns and Responds from the Henrician and Marian periods, each matched with their accompanying plainchant taken from contemporary sources.

 iTUNES  Spotify

Chapelle du Roi

RELEASE DATE: 01/09/1999
BARCODE: 635212001028

1. Hodie nobis caelorum

2. Salvator mundi

3. Quod chorus vatum

4. Videte miraculum

5. In pace in idipsum

6. Dum transisset sabbatum

7. Jesu salvator saeculi

8. Sermone blando

9. Jam Christus astra ascenderat

10. Loquebantur variis linguis

11. Magnificat

You may also like…

Go to Top