Thomas Ades: The Twenty-Fifth Hour


Los Angeles based string quartet The Calder Quartet releases an album of works by Thomas Adès, including the British composer’s first ever work for string quartet, Arcadiana; The Four Quarters (World Premiere Recording) and Adès’s single movement Piano Quintet with Adès himself at the piano.

A series of ingenious and alluring snapshots. The Calder Quartet perform all three with energy and sensitivity. Highly recommended –  Financial Times

Fine recorded sound as well; this is music and performances that repay repeated listening – BBC Radio 3 CD Review

The players of the young American quartet seem so inside this music they might have been playing it all their lives – Classical Music Magazine

 iTUNES  Spotify

The Calder Quartet

RELEASE DATE: 11/03/2015
BARCODE: 635212041321

Piano Quintet

1. I

2. II

3. III

The Four Quarters

4. I. Nightfalls

5. II. Serenade: Morning Dew

6. III. Days

7. IV. The Twenty-Fifth Hour


8. I. Venezia notturno

9. II. Das klinget so herrlich, das klinget so sch?n

10. III. Auf dem Wasser zu singen

11. IV. Et… (tango mortale)

12. V. L’Embarquement

13. VI. O Albion

14. VII. Lethe

You may also like…