The Romantic Horn


This recording presents a selection of some of the most well-loved works for the horn. Titled The Romantic Horn, the works highlight the lyrical gems of the European repertoire for the instrument, with works by Beethoven, Schumann and Scriabin.

Richard Watkins is one of the most sought-after horn players of his generation. He was Principal Horn of the Philharmonia Orchestra for twelve years, is currently a member of The Nash Ensemble, and is a founding member of London Winds. His extensive discography includes recordings of concertos by Mozart, Malcolm Arnold, Reinhold Glière, Ethel Smyth and Colin Matthews, as well as Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante and chamber music for horn by Schumann, Schubert and Poulenc.

Pianist Julius Drake lives in London and specialises in chamber music, working with many of the world’s leading artists, both in recital and in the recording studio. He performs regularly across the globe, in venues that include include Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, Berlin’s Philharmonie, and New York’s Carnegie Hall; and festivals such as the BBC Proms and Salzburg Music Festival.

Performance ★★★★ Recording ★★★★★ Passing moments of earthly good humour [are] embraced with alacrity – BBC Music Magazine

★ An enjoyable recital, well recorded – Classical Music Magazine

Watkins’ rich, singing tone is complemented by Drake’s lively pianism – The Sunday Times

Leaves an unmistakable impression that these two distinguished platers are certainly having a lot of fun – Gramophone

 iTUNES  Spotify

Richard Watkins horn 

Julius Drake piano

RELEASE DATE: 08/03/2019


BARCODE: 635212055625

Horn Sonata, Op. 17

Ludwig van Beethoven

1. I. Allegro

2. II. Poco Adagio

3. III. Rondo

4. Nocturno, Op. 7 Franz Strauss

5. Andante, Op. Posth Richard Strauss

6. Adagio and Allegro, Op. 70 Robert Schumann

7. Rêverie, Op. 24 Alexander Glazunov

8. Romance Alexander Scriabin

9. Villanelle Paul Dukas

10. Élégie Francis Poulenc

11. Hunter’s Moon Gilbert Vinter

You may also like…

Go to Top