The Organ of Westminster Abbey


Robert Quinney performs a stunning recital of works by Elgar on the organ of Westminster Abbey. Quinney has been Sub-Organist there since 2004, performing for a variety of celebrated occasions including the Royal Wedding in April this year.

★★★★★ Magnificent – The Daily Telegraph

Performance ★★★★ Recording ★★★★★ Thoughtfully programmed, compellingly played, Quinney’s Elgar entices – BBC Music Magazine

★★★★ The early Sonata in G (the only work here written for the organ) fares best of all, Quinney subtly exploiting its quasi-symphonic mien to good effect – Choir & Organ Magazine

Signum Classics’ recording is tremendously vivid across the whole spectrum and captures the Westminster Abbey atmosphere in all its blazing majesty – Gramophone

 iTUNES  Spotify

Robert Quinney

RELEASE DATE: 25/07/2011
BARCODE: 635212026625

1. March ‘Pomp and Circumstance’ Op 39 no 3

2. Nimrod from Variations on an Original Theme Op 36

Sonata in G

3. I. Allegro maestoso

4. II. Allegretto

5. III. Andante espressivo

6. IV. Presto (comodo)

Sospiri Op 70 

Severn Suite

7. I. Introduction (Worcester Castle)

8. II. Toccata (Tournament)

9. III. Fugue (The Cathedral)

10. IV. Minuet (Commandery)

11. V. Coda

12. Solemn Prelude: For the Fallen from The Spirit of England Op 80

13. March ‘Pomp and Circumstance’ Op 39 no 5 

You may also like…

Go to Top