The Messiah: Handel arr. Mozart


A stellar line-up of soloists, conductor, choir and orchestra combine forces in the re-mastered 2 CD set of Mozart’s arrangement of Handel’s much loved ‘Messiah’.

In April 1742, shortly after the first performance of Messiah in Dublin for the city’s Charitable Musical Society, the Dublin Journal reported that the oratorio “was allowed by the greatest of Judges to be the finest Compostion of Musick that was ever heard”.

Sir Charles Mackerras continues the constantly evolving performance history of one of the world’s most enduring masterpieces.

Highly enjoyable – BBC Music Magazine



Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Sir Charles Mackerras

RELEASE DATE: 01/03/2006
BARCODE: 635212007426


1. Overture

2. Allegro moderato

3. Recitative: Comfort ye

4. Aria: Every Valley

5. Chorus: And the Glory of the Lord

6. Recitative: Thus saith the Lord

7. Aria: But who may abide

8. Chorus: And He shall purify

9. Recitative: Behold! A Virgin

10. Aria: O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion

11. Recitative: For behold, darkness shall cover the earth

12. Aria: The people that walked in darkness

13. Chorus: For unto us a Child is born

14. Pastoral Symphony Recitative: There were shepherds

15. Accompagnato: And lo!, the Angel

16. Recitative: And the Angel said unto them

17. Accompagnato: And suddenly there was with the Angel

18. Chorus: Glory to God

19. Aria: Rejoice greatly

20. Recitative: Then shall the eyes of the blind

21. Aria: He shall feed His flock, Aria: Come unto him

22. Chorus: His yoke is easy


1. Chorus: Behold the Lamb of God

2. Aria: He was despised

3. Chorus: Surely. He hath borne our griefs

4. Chorus: And with his Stripes

5. Chorus: All we like sheep have gone astray

6. Recitative: All they that see Him

7. Chorus: He trusted in God

8. Recitative: Thy rebuke hath broken His heart

9. Aria: Behold, and see

10. Recitative: He was cut off

11. Aria: But Thou didst not leave

12. Chorus: Lift up your heads

13. Chorus: The Lord gave the Word

14. Aria: How beautiful are the feet of them

15. Aria: Why fo the nations

16. Chorus: Let us break their bonds asunder

17. Recitative: He that dwelleth in Heaven

18. Aria: Thou shalt break them

19. Chorus: Hallelujah

20. Aria: I know that my Redeemer liveth

21. Chorus: Since by man came death

22. Recitative: Behold, I tell you a mystery

23. Aria: The trumpet shall sound

24. Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb

25. Chorus: Amen

You may also like…

Go to Top