The Exquisite Hour


Following Sarah Connolly’s series of title roles at English National Opera, Glyndebourne and New York’s Metropolitan Opera in 2005, this live recital was recorded at St. John’s, Smith Square, London, having been premiered at Carnegie Hall earlier in the year.

Accompanied by Eugene Asti, Sarah Connolly sings songs by Haydn, Brahms, Hahn, Korngold and Weill. Her distinctive, intelligent, warm, bright-sounding mezzo-soprano will be enjoyed by her growing ‘army’ of fans in this rich, romantic repertoire.

Hugely impressive disc, testifying to the versatility and range of a singer who has already drawn comparisons with Janet Baker – The Guardian

One of our most refined mezzos – The Observer

Exquisitely articulated and accompanied – BBC Music Magazine

A national treasure – The Evening Standard

Connolly’s lovely singing reaches to the sensuous core – The Daily Telegraph


Sarah Connolly

RELEASE DATE: 01/02/2006
BARCODE: 635212007228

1. Arianna a Naxos Franz Joseph Haydn

2. Standchen Johannes Brahms

3. Da unten im Tale Johannes Brahms

4. Nachtwandler Johannes Brahms

5. Feldeinsamkeit Johannes Brahms

6. Alte Liebe Johannes Brahms

7. Die Mainacht Johannes Brahms

8. Von ewiger Liebe Johannes Brahms

9. A Chloris Reynaldo Hahn

10. L’Enamouree Reynaldo Hahn

11. Trois jours de vendange Reynaldo Hahn

12. L’Heure exquise Reynaldo Hahn

13. Quand je fus pris au pavillon Reynaldo Hahn

14. Gluckwunsch Erich Wolfgang Korngold

15. Alt-Spanisch Erich Wolfgang Korngold

16. Sterbelied Erich Wolfgang Korngold

17. Gefasster abschied Erich Wolfgang Korngold

18. Lost in the stars Kurt Weill

19. Speak Low Kurt Weill

20. Her song John Ireland

21. Tit for Tat Benjamin Britten

You may also like…

Go to Top