The Eight Seasons


A unique disc from one of Scotland’s most dynamic and versatile groups – the Scottish Ensemble is a tight-knit band of outstanding string players from around Europe who perform regularly together under Artistic Director, Jonathan Morton. This disc – one of their first solo releases following acclaimed discs with artists such as Alison Balsom and Toby Spence – contrasts Vivaldi’s timeless Four Seasons with Piazzolla’s tango-inspired The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires.

Combining Vivaldi and Piazzola together like this underlines the meteorological and cultural differences between Mediterranean Europe and the heart of South America. To have them performed side by side creates a fascinating programme of similarities and contrasts.

The playing standard is excellent, with the strings of the Scottish Ensemble finding a light and suitably transparent texture in the Vivaldi, matched by bright, stylish solos from Jonathan Morton – Gramophone

The relationship between the violin soloist and the ensemble is just right … the Scottish Ensemble succeed in bringing this paradoxical idea to fruition –

 iTUNES  Spotify

Scottish Ensemble

Jonathan Morton

RELEASE DATE: 01/01/2011
BARCODE: 635212023129

‘La Primavera’ – Spring


1. Allegro

2. Largo

3. Allegro

4. ‘Verano porteno’ – Summer in Buenos Aires Piazzolla

‘L’Estate’ – Summer


5. Allegro non molto

6. Adagio e piano – Presto e forte

7. Presto

8. ‘Otono porteno’ – Autumn in Buenos Aires Piazzolla

‘L’Autunno’ – Autumn


9. Allegro

10. Adagio molto

11. Allegro

12. ‘Invierno porteno’ – Winter in Buenos Aires Piazzolla 

‘L’Inverno’ – Winter


13. Allegro non molto

14. Largo

15. Allegro

16. ‘Primavera portena’ – Spring in Buenos Aires Piazzolla 

You may also like…

Go to Top