Sturm und Drang Volume 1

This is the first project in a seven-volume series exploring the ‘Sturm und Drang’ movement, which swept
through all art forms in the between the early 1760s and 1780s. The purpose of this movement were to
frighten and perturb through the use of wild and subjective emotional means of expression.

This series of ‘Sturm und Drang’ recordings incorporates iconic compositions by Mozart, Gluck and, above
all, Joseph Haydn, but it also includes largely forgotten or neglected works by less familiar names. The music
featured on this disc was all composed in the 1760s. It includes ballet and opera as well as symphonies, but
is drawn together by the hallmarks of the remarkably visceral and dynamic style of music that we now call
‘Sturm und Drang’.


The Mozartists

Ian Page

Release date: 05/05/20

Catalogue number: SIGCD619

Barcode: 635212061923

Christoph Willibald Gluck (1714 – 1787)
1. Final scene from Don Juan: Larghetto – Chaconne (Allegro non troppo)

Niccolò Jommelli (1714 – 1774)
2. “Ombre che tacite qui sede” from Fetonte

Joseph Haydn (1732 – 1809)
3. “Non v’è chi mi aiuta” from La canterina

Franz Ignaz Beck (1734 – 1809)
Symphony in G minor, Op. 3, no. 3
4. I. Allegro con spirito
5. II. Andante un poco adagio
6. III. Minuetto e Trio
7. IV. Presto

Tommaso Traetta (1727 – 1779)
8. “Crudeli, ahimè, che fate?” from Sofonisba
9. “Sofonisba, che aspetti?” from Sofonisba

Joseph Haydn
Symphony No. 49 in F minor, ‘La Passione’
10. I. Adagio
11. II. Allegro di molto
12. III. Menuet e Trio
13. IV. Presto

You may also like…