Sturm und Drang Vol. 2


The second volume in a ground-breaking seven-part series, The Mozartists and director Ian Page’s ‘Sturm und Drang’ recordings incorporate iconic compositions by Mozart, Gluck and, above all, Joseph Haydn, but it also includes largely forgotten or neglected works by less familiar names. All of the music featured on this second recording was composed between 1765 and 1770, with three turbulent minor-key symphonies alternating with sacred and operatic arias.

The ‘Sturm und Drang’ movement swept through all art forms in between the early 1760s and 1780s, with the general objective to frighten and perturb through the use of wildly subjective and emotional means of expression, envoking ground-breaking extremes of passion and sentimentality.


The Mozartists

Ian Page

Release date: 09/10/20

Catalogue number: SIGCD636

Barcode: 635212063620

Symphony No. 39 in G Minor, Hob 1:39Joseph Haydn
1. I. Allegro assai
2. II. Andante
3. III. Menuet e Trio
4. IV. Finale: Allegro di molto

Paride ed ElenaChristoph Willibald Gluck
5. “O del mio dolce ardor”
6. “Tutto qui mi sorprende”
7. “Le belle immagini”

Symphony in D Minor, Bryan D1Johann Baptist Vanhal
8. I. Allegro
9. II. Andante arioso
10. III. Menuetto e Trio
11. IV. Presto

Stabat MaterJoseph Haydn
12. “Fac me vere tecum flere”

SemiramideJosef Mysliveček
13. “Tu mi disprezzi ingrato”

Symphony in G Minor, Op. 6, No. 6Johann Christian Bach
14. I. Allegro
15. II. Andante più tosto Adagio
16. III. Allegro molto

You may also like…

Go to Top