Strauss / Copland


The four works on this disc, all composed in the 1940s, embrace the lingering end of one musical tradition and the vigorous upsurge of another. Mellifluous, retrospective and playful, the Duet Concertino and Prelude to Capriccio were works of Richard Strauss’s Indian Summer – an old man’s refuge from the barbarism of war and its aftermath. What the public thought of them was incidental, even irrelevant. In the same decade, Aaron Copland and other younger American composers were reaching out, via radio, recordings and film, to a new mass audience. The European influence of Appalachian Spring and the Clarinet Concerto, though inescapable, was minimised in a populist, vernacular idiom that absorbed native folk music and jazz. Richard Stamp unites some of the finest instrumentalists from the UK and Europe in these performances – featuring celebrated orchestras the Academy of London and the Royal Northern Sinfonia with renowned Austrian soloists Ernst Ottensamer and Stepan Turnovsky.

Stepan Turnovsky joined the Vienna State Opera and the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra in 1978 and has kept the position of Solo Bassoonist there since 1985, performing with conductors such as Herbert von Karajan, Leonard Bernstein, Karl Böhm, Carlos Kleiber amongst many others.

The late Ernst Ottensamer was a former principal clarinettist at the Vienna Philharmonic and an avid performer of chamber music – founding numerous ensembles and collaborating with musicians such as Sir Simon Rattle, André Previn, Daniel Barenboim and Rudolf Buchbinder amongst others. In 2005 he found a clarinet trio with his sons Daniel and Andreas Ottensamer – themselves the Principal Clarinettists of the Vienna Philharmonic and Berlin Philharmonic Orchestras. This present performance represents his last concerto recording.


Ernst Ottensamer clarinet | Stepan Turnovsky bassoon

Academy of London

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Richard Stamp conductor

Release date: 11/12/20

Catalogue number: SIGCD654


Duet Concertino for Clarinet and Bassoon, TrV 293
1 I. Allegro moderato
2 II. Andante
3 III. Allegro ma non troppo
4 Prelude to Capriccio, Op. 85 TrV 279
Clarinet Concerto
5 I. Slowly and Expressively
6 II. Rather Fast

Appalachian Spring Suite (Original Version)
7 I. Very Slowly
8 II. Fast
9 III. Moderate
10 IV. Quite Fast
11 V. Still Faster
12 VI. Very Slowly (As at First)
13 VII. Calm and Flowing
14 VIII. Moderate. Coda.

Go to Top