Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 1, 2 & 7


This CD marks the second release of the Carducci’s Shostakovich 15 project, which includes performances of the complete cycles of the Shostakovich Quartets in cities including Washington DC, London, Oxford, Cardiff, Bogota and concerts throughout the UK to mark the 40th anniversary of the composer’s death.

Described by The Strad as presenting “a masterclass in unanimity of musical purpose, in which severity could melt seamlessly into charm, and drama into geniality”, the Carducci Quartet is recognised as one of today’s most successful string quartets.

This disc contrasts Shostakovich’s first two string quartets with the seventh – composed in memory of his late wife Nina. In composing his quartets prior to No. 7, Shostakovich had scrupulously followed a predetermined sequence of keys: according to this, the work should have been in E flat major. However Shostakovich, significantly, chose to break this pattern by writing his new quartet in F sharp minor, the key associated with such anguished music as Peter’s remorse in Bach’s St John Passion, and – particularly close to Shostakovich’s heart – Mahler’s unfinished Tenth Symphony.

Performance★★★★ Recording★★★★ Beautiful honed – BBC Music Magazine

These are athletic, upfront performances, clear in texture, forthright in tone and bold in articulation – Gramophone

Sterling renditions that come highly recommended – The Northern Echo

 iTUNES  Spotify

Carducci String Quartet

RELEASE DATE: 22/03/2019


BARCODE: 635212055922

String Quartet No. 2 in A Major, Op. 68

1. I. Overture: Moderato con moto

2. II. Recitative and Romance: Adagio

3. III. Valse: Allegro

4. IV. Theme with Variations: Adagio

String Quartet No. 1 in C Major, Op. 49

5. I. Moderato

6. II. Moderato

7. III. Allegro molto

8. IV. Allegro

String Quartet No. 7 in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 108

9. I. Allegretto

10. II. Lento

11. III. Allegro – Allegretto

You may also like…

Go to Top