SHOSTAKOVICH: Concertos & Sonatas


Celebrated international pianist Peter Donohoe continues his series of Shostakovich releases on Signum Classics, following his recent release of the 24 Preludes and Fugues, Op. 87 (SIGCD396).

For this new recording he is accompanied for the concertos by the Orchestra of the Swan under their artistic director David Curtis.

★★★★★ Donohoe’s needle-sharp articulation and firmness of tone set the nerves appropriately on edge, carving out the music’s contours with glacial insistence – The Scotsman

★★★★ Donohoe delivers a highly-charged and compelling account – BBC Music Magazine

★★★★ There is much to admire all told, and the sound-quality is consistently excellent – Classical Source

Peter Donohoe turns in a stunning performance, relishing the required assaults on the lower reaches of the keyboard… a deeply satisfying disc – Music Web International


 iTUNES  Spotify

Peter Donohoe piano

Orchestra of the Swan

David Curtis conductor

RELEASE DATE: 06/10/2017


BARCODE: 635212049327

Piano Sonata No. 1, Op. 12 2

1. I. Allegro

2. II. Meno mosso

3. III. Adagio

4. IV. Allegro –Poco meno mosso

5. IV. Adagio – Lento

6. IV. Allegro – Meno mosso

Piano Concerto No. 1 for piano, trumpet and strings, Op. 35

7. I. Allegro moderato

8. II. Lento

9. III. Moderato

10. IV. Allegro brio

Piano Sonata No. 2, Op. 61

11. I. Allegretto

12. II. Largo

13. III. Moderato

Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 102

14. I. Allegro

15. II.Andante

16. III. Allegro

Go to Top