Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 2, Britten: Cello Symphony


Jamie Walton’s new collaboration with the Philharmonia Orchestra, led by Alexander Briger, covers two more-contemporary Cello works; Shostakovich?s Cello Concerto No. 2, and Britten’s Symphony for Cello and Orchestra. Jamie Walton is quickly gaining international recognition for his work, being compared to Cello legends Rostropovich and Tortelier.

The Elgar society wrote about Jamie’s first disc with Signum:

“I really cannot praise this performance too highly. For faithfulness to the text, interpretative musicality, accuracy, ensemble and warmth and beauty of tone, Walton cannot be beaten.”

 iTUNES  Spotify

Jamie Walton

Philharmonia Orchestra, Alexander Briger

RELEASE DATE: 28/10/2008
BARCODE: 635212013724

Concerto for Cello and Orchester No. 2 in G

Dmitri Shostakovich

1. I. Largo

2. II. Allegretto

3. III. Allegretto

Symphony for Cello and Orchestra

Benjamin Britten

4. I. Allegro maestoso

5. II. Presto inquieto

6. III. Adagio

7. IV. Passacaglia: Andante allegro

You may also like…

Go to Top