Schubert Swansong


Christopher Glynn continues his series of late Schubert song cycles in English, joined by celebrated soloists Sir John Tomlinson, Sophie Bevan, Julian Bliss and Alec Frank-Gemmill.

Titled by the works first publisher following Schubert’s death, Swansong (Schwanengesang) D 957 sets sets the words of poets Ludwig Rellstab, Heinrich Heine and Johann Gabriel Seidl in songs that cover a variety of different emotional states. The lighthearted Love Message (Liebesbotschaft), with its rippling accompaniment, addresses a murmuring brook with the hope of true love. The bone-chilling Doppelgänger with its stark, slowly tolling chords, finds the protagonist crazed with a nocturnal vision of himself agonizing at the empty doorstep of his lost love. Renowned for his clear diction and powerful voice, Sir John Tomlinson brings his insight and nuance to these profound works.

Reminiscent of the scoring for The Shepherd on the Rock and composed in the same year, On the River (Auf dem Strom) combines soprano and horn in a setting of a poem by Ludwig Rellstab. Originally given to Beethoven who did not live long enough to set it, Schubert took up the words in a work that is a subtle homage to the composer.

The 1828 work The Shepherd on the Rock (Der Hirt auf dem Felsen) sets words by Wilhelm Müller and German playwright Helmina von Chézy, and was composed in gratitude to the soprano Anna Milder-Hauptmann. Here performed by Sophie Bevan and Julian Bliss, it tells the story of a shepherd lamenting the distance between him and his beloved before a reflection on loneliness and grief. The final section celebrates the arrival of spring in a hopeful conclusion.

The creamy clarity of both Alec Frank-Gemmill’s horn and Julian Bliss’s clarinet sound is a perfect foil for Sophie Bevan’s exquisite, rounded legato – BBC Music Magazine

Christopher Glynn’s playing is excellent throughout – Gramophone

 iTUNES  Spotify

Sir John Tomlinson bass

Christopher Glynn piano

Sophie Bevan soprano

Julian Bliss clarinet

Alec Frank-Gemmill horn

RELEASE DATE: 12/10/2018


BARCODE: 635212055021

Schwanengesang D. 957 “Swan Song”

1. I. Liesbesbotschaft “Love Message”

2. II. Kreigers Ahnung “The Warrior’s Foreboding”

3. III. Frühlingssehnsucht “Longing For Spring”

4. IV. Ständchen “Serenade”

5. V. Aufenthalt “My Home”

6. VI. In der Ferne “Far Away”

7. VII. Abschied “Leave Taking”

8. VIII. Der Atlas “Atlas”

9. IX. Ihr Bild “Her Picture”

10. X. Das Fischermädchen “The Fisher Maiden”

11. XI. Die Stadt “The Town”

12. XII. Am Meer “By the Sea”

13. XIII. Der Doppelgänger “Doppelgänger”

14. XIV. Die Taubenpost “Pigeon Post”

15. Auf dem Strom, D.943 “On the River”

16. Der Hirt auf dem Felsen, D.965 “The Shepherd on the Rock”

You may also like…

Go to Top