Schoenberg: Gurrelieder


Acknowledged as the UK’s foremost musical pioneers, with an extraordinary recording legacy, the Philharmonia leads the field for its quality of playing. Together with its relationships with the most sought-after artists, most importantly its Principal Conductor and Artistic Advisor Esa-Pekka Salonen, the Philharmonia Orchestra is at the heart of British musical life.
Esa-Pekka Salonen made his London conducting debut with the Philharmonia Orchestra in September 1983 and he has returned to conduct the Orchestra on a regular basis ever since. This is the first in our series of Philharmonia releases that feature Salonen as conductor and is a hybrid SACD/CD in both stereo and surround. Forthcoming recordings as part of Salonen’s new partnership with the Philharmonia Orchestra and Signum include Mahler’s 6th and 9th symphonies and Berlioz’s Symphonie Fantastique.
This recording is a hybrid CD/SACD recording, which will work in both a standard CD or SACD player. 

What people are saying

"Sometimes less is not more. More is exhilarating. … the music-making was superb … And what terrific soloists!"  Richard Morrison, The Times
“The opening songs have a featherweight transparency, the interludes a natural fluency … and the choral climax transmits a properly ecstatic, pantheistic glow” The Financial Times
“Salonen cracks into Schoenberg’s stacked layers of activity and strikingly schizophrenic mood shifts, revealing clarity and sonic grandeur. His soloists are top-notch too. Essential listening.”  Classic FM Magazine

Philharmonia Orchestra

Philharmonia Voices

City of Birmingham Symphony Chorus

Stig Andersen Waldemar

Ralf Lukas Bauer

Soile Isokoski Tove

Andreas Conrad Klaus-Narr

Monica Groop Waldtaube

Barbara Sukowa Sprecher

Release date:21st Sep 2009
Order code:SIGCD173
Barcode: 635212017326

  1. Orchestral Prelude – Arnold Schoenberg – 6.45
  2. Nun d?mpft die D?mmerung – Arnold Schoenberg – 3.23
  3. O, wenn des Mondes – Arnold Schoenberg – 2.38
  4. Ro?! Mein Ro?! – Arnold Schoenberg – 2.56
  5. Sterne jubeln – Arnold Schoenberg – 2.34
  6. So tanzen die Engel – Arnold Schoenberg – 2.14
  7. Nun sag’ ich dir – Arnold Schoenberg – 4.15
  8. Es ist Mitternachts Zeit – Arnold Schoenberg – 5.53
  9. Du sendest mir einen Liebesblick – Arnold Schoenberg – 6.00
  10. Du wunderliche Tove! – Arnold Schoenberg – 4.46
  11. Orchestral Interlude – Arnold Schoenberg – 5.07
  12. Tauben von Gurre! – Arnold Schoenberg – 11.48
  13. Herrgott, wei?t du, was du tatest – Arnold Schoenberg – 4.54
  14. Erwacht, K?nig Waldemars Mannen! – Arnold Schoenberg – 2.05
  15. Deckel des Sarges klappert und klappt – Arnold Schoenberg – 3.57
  16. Gegr??t, o K?nig, an Gurres See Strand – Arnold Schoenberg – 5.45
  17. Mit Toves Stimme fl?stert der Wald – Arnold Schoenberg – 3.12
  18. Ein seltsamer Vogel ist so ‘n Aal – Arnold Schoenberg – 6.43
  19. Du strenger Richter droben – Arnold Schoenberg – 2.45
  20. Der Hahn erhebt den Kopf zur Kraht – Arnold Schoenberg – 6.28
  21. Herr G?nsefu?, Frau G?nsekraut – Arnold Schoenberg – 8.34
  22. Seht, die Sonne – Arnold Schoenberg – 5.37