Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez


Charles Ramirez is a guitarist of rare skill. A preeminent performer in the generation of guitarists that followed Segovia, he has held the post of Professor of Guitar at the Royal College of Music since the age of 25, raising the profile of the instrument through his concerts and education activities since mid-1970s.

This disc is the first in a new series of recordings featuring Charles Ramirez and sees him perform works by Joaquín Rodrigo with the Chamber Orchestra of Europe – the Concierto de Aranjuez and Fantasia para un gentilhombre – under conductor and founding member of the orchestra Douglas Boyd. The programme is completed with Rodrigo’s enchanting solo-guitar piece Elogio de la guitara.


What people are saying

"Guitar virtuoso Charles Ramirez is on supple, sensitive form on this collection of Rodrigo suites" The Independent 

" … Concierto de Aranjuez sparkles in the hands of Charles Ramirez. Even more impressive is the more virtuosic Elogio de la guitarra, where Ramirez sustains some fiendish fingerwork." The Daily Telegraph 

"Ramirez is technically masterful, his tone rich, his musical ideas intelligent." Classic FM Magazine 

Charles Ramirez

Chamber Orchestra of Europe

Release date:28th Jan 2011
Order code:SIGCD244
Barcode: 635212024423

 Guitar virtuoso Charles Ramirez is on supple, sensitive form on this collection of Rodrigo suites, accompanied on the “Concierto de Aranjuez” and “Fantasia para un gentilhombre” by the Chamber Orchestra of Europe, before closing with the solo piece “Elogio de la guitarra”. The “Concerto” is the classical guitar composition par excellence, light and absorbing, with the spirited first movement giving way to the second movement’s darker depths before the pastoral closing section concludes on a positive note. The “Fantasia” was based on themes collected by Gaspar Sanz, the 17th-century composer who helped establish the guitar as a serious instrument.

Andy Gill

  1. Concierto de Aranjuez: I. Allegro con spirito – Joaqu?n Rodrigo – 6.21
  2. Elogio de la guitarra: II. Andantino – Joaqu?n Rodrigo – 4.18
  3. Elogio de la guitarra: I. Allegro – Joaqu?n Rodrigo – 5.28
  4. Fantas?a para un gentilhombre: IV. Canario – Joaqu?n Rodrigo – 5.31
  5. Fantas?a para un gentilhombre: III. Danza de las hachas – Joaqu?n Rodrigo – 2.05
  6. Fantas?a para un gentilhombre: II. Espa?oleta y Fanfare de la Caballer?a de Napoles – Joaqu?n Rodrigo – 9.19
  7. Fantas?a para un gentilhombre: I. Villano y Ricercare – Joaqu?n Rodrigo – 5.02
  8. Concierto de Aranjuez: III. Allegro gentile – Joaqu?n Rodrigo – 5.22
  9. Concierto de Aranjuez: II. Adagio – Joaqu?n Rodrigo – 11.37
  10. Elogio de la guitarra: III. Allegro – Joaqu?n Rodrigo – 4.52