The Calidore Quartet present their first disc on Signum Records – a collection of quartets by Janáček, Prokofiev, Golijov and Mendelssohn.

The pieces were the products of four compelling personal narratives: an escape from the NAZI eastern offensive in WWII, a life caught in the crosshairs of a surge of violence in the Middle East, the sudden death of one’s closest friend and the struggle of being trapped in a loveless marriage. Felix Mendelssohn and Leoš Janáček turned to their art to find an outlet for their personal grief while Sergei Prokofiev and Osvaldo Golijov used their compositions to make sense of a world that was turned upside down by violent conflict.

Because of and despite these origins the works are imbued with emotional potency, and the quartet hope that that these works can provide “a message of hope because they illuminate the human potential to create beauty even in the darkest of circumstances.”

Superb young quartet presents a timely and thought-provoking programme – The Strad

Precision needn’t inhibit expression; these lively, intelligent performances of an attractive and thought-provoking programme offer compelling proof Gramophone

Superb, rhythmically alert playing, the players’ collective virtuosity always at the service of the music – The Arts Desk

The Calidore Quartet successfully capture the emotional charge of this powerful work, bringing resilience to a suitably stirring close – BBC Music Magazine

If the recording is comparable to what this admirable group displayed last week, the loud ovations after the concert were completely justified – Seen and Heard International

Never do these players lose sight of the fact that the music, for all its violence and passion, should be a thing of beauty – MusicWeb International

 iTUNES  Spotify

Calidore String Quartet

RELEASE DATE: 12/10/2018


BARCODE: 635212055120

String Quartet No.1 “Kreutzer Sonata”

Leoš Janáček 

1. I. Adagio

2. II. Con moto

3. III. Con moto

4. IV. Con moto (agadio)

String Quartet No.2 Op. 92

Sergei Prokofiev 

5. I. Allegro sostenuto

6. II. Adagio

7. III. Allegro

8. Tenebrae

Osvaldo Golijov

String Quartet No.6 in F minor Op. 80

Felix Mendelssohn

9. I. Allegro vivace assai

10. II. Allegro assai

11. III. Adagio

12. IV. Finale. Allegro molto

You may also like…