Orchestral Works by Guto Pryderi Puw 

Gweithiau Cerddorfaol gan Guto Pryderi Puw

The first release from the BBC National Orchestra of Wales’s inaugral Composer in Residence, Guto Pryderi Puw.

A dual-language release in both Welsh and English, this release features a range of orchestral works inspired by stories and landscapes of Wales.

The playing of the BBC National Orchestra of Wales under the always enterprising Jac van Steen is everything that could be desired – MusicWeb International

Running the gamut from dense harmonic clusters to folk tunes, the judicious placing of its events more than outweighs its overtly short-term evolution – all making for a bracing embodiment of its narrative and a vivid showpiece in its own right – Gramophone

 iTUNES  Spotify

BBC National Orchestra of Wales

David Cowley oboe

Jac van Steen conductor

RELEASE DATE: 05/05/2014
BARCODE: 635212037829

1. ‘…ont agoraf y drws…’ / ‘…unless I open the door…’ 

Concerto ar gyfer Obo / Concerto for Oboe

2. I. Rumour – Moderato

3. II. Chatter – Allegro assai e molto ritmico

4. III. Lento tenerezza

5. IV. Cadenza – ad lib.

6. V. S…..s…s..stutter – Presto

7. Reservoirs

8. Hologram

9. Agorawd ‘Torri’r Garreg’ / ‘Break the Stone’ Overture

You may also like…