Rachmaninov: Transcriptions & Arrangements for Organ


Jeremy Filsell, a world-renowned authority and performer on both the organ and piano, taps into his lifelong love of the music of Rachmaninov to create this programme of new transcriptions and arrangements for the organ, centred on the Symphonic Dances Op. 45.

Show-stopping stuff on occasion, and hi-fi buffs with big woofers will find much to enjoy with the volume turned up, but the real satisfaction is in Rachmaninov’s remarkable music, with all of its spectral darkness and surprising radiance – MusicWeb International

I am sure the composer would greet Filsell’s Symphonic Dances with the same ‘Hallelujah’ he appended to the completed score – Choir and Organ

Jeremy Filsell is superb pianist and one of the greatest organists…the colours that he brings out are wonderful – BBC Radio 3 Record Review


Jeremy Filsell organ

RELEASE DATE: 24/11/2014
BARCODE: 635212032428

1. Etude-Tableau Op. 39, No. 9

2. Variations on a theme of Corelli, Op. 42 

3. Fugue (1891)

4. Prelude in B major, Op. 32 No.11

5. Vocalise, Op. 34 No. 14 (Transcribed by Nigel Potts)

Symphonic Dances, Op. 45

6. I. Non allegro

7. II. Andante con moto (Tempo di valse)

8. III. Lento assai – Allegro vivace – Lento assai – Come prima – Allegro vivace

You may also like…

Go to Top