Purcell: King Arthur 1691


The great patriotic opera of the 17th century, recorded here in a lively new performing edition after two decades in the Gabrieli’s touring repertoire. Notoriously difficult to present on disc or in concert, this version presented by Gabrieli was created to allow an obvious musical narrative, despite Purcell’s music often being completely dislocated from much of the original theatre context.

Gabrieli have been performing the music from King Arthur for nearly a quarter of a century, evolving their interpretation over time. With the score having to be pieced together using separate versions (due to Purcell’s originals being lost), and with Gabrieli’s evolved interpretation of the music, the end product of this recording is truly unique. Their next release on Signum will be with the semi-opera by Purcell, Fairy Queen, in April next year, which is an adaptation of A Midsummer Nights Dream.


All downloads include booklets.

 iTUNES  Spotify

Gabrieli Consort and Players

Paul McCreesh

Anna Dennis Soprano
Mhairi Lawson Soprano
Rowan Pierce Soprano
Carolyn Sampson Soprano
Jeremy Budd High Tenor
James Way Tenor
Roderick Williams Baritone
Ashley Riches Bass-baritone

Release Date: 25/10/19

Catalogue Number: SIGCD589

Barcode: 635212058923

1. First Music – Aire
2. First Music – Minuett
3. Second Music – Hornpipe
4. Second Music – Scotch Tune
5. Overture
6. Aire
7. Woden, first to thee / We have sacrific’d
8. The white horse neigh’d aloud / To Woden thanks we render
9. The lot is cast / Brave Souls
10. I call you all to Woden’s hall
11. Come if you dare, our trumepts sound
12. Prelude – Aire
13. Hither this way
14. Come follow me
15. Hither this way
16. Come follow me
17. How blest are shepherds
18. Shepherd, shepherd, leave decoying
19. Come, shepherds, lead up a lively measure
20. Second Act Tune – Rondeau
21. What ho, thou Genius of this isle!
22. What power art thou
23. Thou doting fool, forbear
24. Great Love, I know thee now
25. No part of my dominion shall be waste
26. See, see, we assemble
27. ‘Tis I that have warm’d ye / ‘Tis Love that has warm’d us
28. Sound a parley
29. ‘Tis Love that has warm’d us
30. Third Act Tune – Aire

1. Aire
2. Two daughters of this aged stream are we
3. How happy the lover / For love every creature
4. You say, ‘tis Love creates the pain
5. Fourth Act Tune – Hornpipe
6. Prelude – Rondeau
7. Ye blust’ ring bethren / Serene and calm
8. Soft Tune
9. Round thy coasts
10. For folded flocks
11. Your hay it is mow’d
12. Fairest Isle
13. Tune for Trumpets
14. Sound Heroes, your brazen trumpets sound! / Let all rehearse
15. Grand Dance – Chaconne

You may also like…

Go to Top