Psalm: Contemporary British Trumpet Concertos


Simon Desbruslais leads the performances on this disc of world premiere recordings from some of the UK’s leading composers.

Seeking to expand the trumpet’s repertoire of concerto and orchestra works, Simon Desbruslais was inspired after performing Robert Saxton’s Psalm to help comission the three new works on this programme: Saxton’s Shakespeare Scenes, Deborah Pritchard’s Skyspace and John McCabe’s La Primavera.

Four vibrant, attractive concertos – three written within the past three years – by three of Britain’s brightest and best, and performed with dazzling virtuosity and musicianship by Simon Desbruslais and the Orchestra of the Swan … The concluding held note for the trumpet unaccompanied is just one sign of his consummate mastery. A hugely enjoyable disc, strongly recommended – Gramophone

Desbruslais’s immaculate playing and faultless musicality serve all these works well. I do not think that his playing in these works could be bettered although I sincerely wish that these works were avidly seized upon by any adventurous trumpet player – MusicWeb International

Four new British trumpet concertos, brilliant, seductive and engrossing – Planet Hugill

 iTUNES  Spotify

Simon Desbruslais trumpet
Orchestra of the Swan
David Curtis and Kenneth Woods conductors

RELEASE DATE:10/11/2014
BARCODE: 635212040324


Deborah Pritchard

1. I. Aurum

2. II. Aurum Resonance

3. III. Light Iridescent

4. IV. Opaque

5. V. Opaque Resonance

6. VI. Dark Iridescent

7. VII. Cerulean

8. Psalm – A Song of Ascents Robert Saxton

Trumpet Concerto “La Primavera”

John McCabe

9. I. Allegro

10. II. Andante

11. III. Quick

Shakespeare Scenes

Robert Saxton

12. I. The Magic Wood

13. II. Falstaff

14. III. The Storm on the Heath

15. IV. Masque

16. V. The Magic Island

You may also like…

Go to Top