Philip Glass


Following on from the critically acclaimed albums, Different Trains and Ghost Stories, Signum is pleased to announce the release of The Smith Quartet’s latest album, the complete string quartets by the world-acclaimed composer, Philip Glass.

Over a time span of 25 years, Glass completed 8 quartets (the 3 earliest were withdrawn) drawing on the influences of Bach to Shostakovich, as well as exterior musical sources: dance, theatre and film.

Clear – cut , polished performances by The Smith Quartet give the listener an excellent taster of a quartet at the forefront of contemporary music.

Glass weaves filigree tapestries given polished, finely detailed airings by the virtuoso Brits – The Observer

How long before the Kronos is labelled the ‘American Smith Quartet’? … they are ahead of the curve at generating new repertoire and taking the experimental back-catalogue seriously – Classic FM Magazine

If success was measured according to output and sales units alone, Glass would be head and shoulders above his contemporaries … played with characteristic precision and projection by the ensemble – Gramophone

 iTUNES  Spotify

The Smith Quartet

RELEASE DATE: 03/03/2008
BARCODE: 635212011720


String Quartet No.3, Mishima

1. I. 1957: Award Montage

2. II. November 25: Ichigaya

3. III. Grandmother and Kimitake

4. IV. 1962: Body Building

5. V. Blood Oath

6. VI. Mishima/Closing (End Credits)

String Quartet No.2, Company

7. I

8. II

9. III

10. IV

String Quartet No.4, Buczak

11. I

12. II

13. III


String Quartet No.1

1. Part 1

2. Part 2

String Quartet No.5

3. I

4. II

5. III

6. IV

7. V

You may also like…

Go to Top