Out of Darkness


The Choir of Jesus College Cambridge present this album of sacred works which follows events in the Church calendar.  From Ash Wednesday, through to the final feast of the year – Trinity, the recording features works by Bryd, Purcell, Casals, Elgar, Stanford, Britten, Tallis and James MacMillan, all directed by Mark Williams.

★★★★★ Bairstow’s The Lamentation is interpreted with marvellous subtlety here – Choir & Organ

Brooding and refined – The Telegraph

Fresh, engaging performances of works spanning the church year, from a choir moving swiftly up the Oxbridge pecking order. The Rorem and MacMillan pieces get especially fine performances – BBC Music Magazine

 iTUNES  Spotify
The Choir of Jesus College Cambridge
Mark Williams director

RELEASE DATE: 09/02/2015
BARCODE: 635212040928

1. Cunctis diebus William Byrd 

2. Remember not, Lord, our offences. Z 50 Henry Purcell 

3. The Lamentation Edward Bairstow 

4. Tantum ergo Fernand Laloux

5. O vos omnes Pablo Casals

6. Ye Choirs of New Jerusalem Charles Villiers Stanford

7. Surrexit pastor bonus Jean L’Heritier 

8. Festival Te Deum, Op. 32 Benjamin Britten 

9. Incantation pour un jour Saint Jean Langlais

10. The Strathclyde Motets: Sedebeit dominus rex James MacMillan

11. Litany to the Holy Spirit Peter Hurford

12. If ye love me Thomas Tallis 

13. Listen sweet dove Grayston Ives 

14. Breathe on me, breath of God Ned Rorem

15. The Apostles, Op. 49: The Spirit of the Lord is upon me Edward Elgar

16. Libera Nos John Sheppard

17. I Saw the Lord John Stainer 

You may also like…

Go to Top