Oliver Davis: Solace


Recorded at the height of the international Covid lockdown, Oliver Davis’s sixth album for Signum is a feat of both technological as well as artistic achievement. Following from draws together artists from across the globe for a selection of moving works for a variety of forces – recording a violinist in Los Angeles, a piano duo in The Netherlands, a guitarist in Argentina and the Budapest Scoring Orchestra conducted by Péter Illényi in Budapest. Davis’s previous albums with Signum have reached the top 10 on both iTunes Classical and UK Specialist Classical Charts multiple times, receiving numerous five-star reviews and well over a million streams on Apple Music.

British composer Oliver Davis has parlayed a long record as a composer of film and television scores into a successful career as a composer of orchestral music that in performance have attracted top-notch London orchestras and soloists. He has also been active as a composer of ballet – most recently premiering Lineage with choreographer Edwaard Liang at New York City Ballet’s prestigious Fall Fashion Gala.


Oliver Davis Piano and Vocals

Kerenza Peacock, Jonathan Hill Violins

Katherine Jenkinson, Nicholas Holland Cellos

Huw Watkins, Beth & Flo Piano Duo (Elsbet Remijn and Claudette Verhulst) Pianos

Grace Davidson Soprano | Oliver Wass Harp | Sergio Puccini Guitar

Budapest Scoring Orchestra

Péter Illényi Conductor

Release date: 05/03/21

Catalogue number: SIGCD668

Barcode: 635212066829

1 Clarity for solo violins and strings
2 Solace for solo violin and strings
3 This Mortal Man for soprano, harp and strings
4 Narcisuss and Echo
5 – 6 Equinox for violin and strings
7 – 9 Guitar Concerto

10 – 12 Kaleidoscope piano duet
13 Sun Stands Still for treble and piano
14 – 16 Bute Cello Duets
17 – 20 Eros and Psyche for soprano and orchestra
21 Save Me

Go to Top