Naked Byrd Two


This recording is compiled from Armonico Consort’s ‘Naked Byrd’ programme, featuring music by Tavener, Purcell, Barber and Byrd, composers who wore their hearts on their sleeves, and whose art saw their emotions laid bare, in an atmospheric concert where magical musical moments are intertwined with sublime passages of plainchant and violin improvisation. ‘Naked Byrd Two’ follows on from their December 2009 release (‘Naked Byrd’).

Armonico Consort is, at its heart, a highly talented vocal ensemble that stages a wide variety of concerts. The quality of the performances they stage is reflected in the praise they have recently received:

An achingly beautiful selection Classic FM

Superb! – The Times

A beautiful sound – BBC Radio 3 Record Review

[A] splendid second volume in the Armonico Consort’s Naked Byrd series – The Independent

[A] disc of unending delight Gramophone
 iTUNES  Spotify

Armonico Consort

RELEASE DATE: 10/01/2011
BARCODE: 635212023525

1. Salve Regina Hermann Contractus 

2. The Spirit of Tallis Thomas Tallis, arr. Christopher Monks 

3. Agnus Dei (from Adagio for Strings) Samuel Barber

4. Funeral Ikos John Tavener

5. Hear my Prayer, O Lord Henry Purcell

6. Spiritus Sanctus Vivificans Hildegard of Bingen

7. Never Seek to Tell Thy Love Jonathan Roberts

8. Crucifixus Antonio Lotti

9. O Virtus Sapientiae Hildegard of Bingen

10. Versa Est (Requiem) Tomas Luis de Victoria

11. Strengthen ye the weak hands David Buckley

12. Agnus Dei from 4 part mass William Byrd

13. The Lamb John Tavener

You may also like…

Go to Top