Mendelssohn: Violin Concerto in D minor


Outstanding British-violinist Tamsin-Waley Cohen – described by the late Ruggiero Ricci following a masterclass as “the most exceptionally gifted young violinist I have ever encountered” – performs a fittingly prodigious work by Felix Mendelssohn.

The Violin Concerto in D minor was composed when Mendelssohn was just 13, and has remained popular with audiences the world over since its rediscovery in the middle of the 20th century by Yehudi Menuhin. The work is paired on this disc with Mendelssohn’s Concerto for Violin & Piano, where Waley-Cohen is joined by British pianist Huw Watkins, all alongside the enthusiastic accompaniment of the Orchestra of the Swan under David Curtis.

Connoisseur’s Choice: Tamsin Waley-Cohen is going to do very well – a young artist to watch – Classic FM

 iTUNES  Spotify

Orchestra of the Swan

Tamsin Waley-Cohen violin

Huw Watkins piano

David Curtis conductor

RELEASE DATE: 02/09/2013
BARCODE: 635212034224

Violin Concerto in D minor

1. I. Allegro molto

2. II. Andante

3. III. Allegro

Concerto for Violin, Piano and Strings in D minor

4. I. Allegro

5. II. Adagio

6. III. Allegro molto

You may also like…

Go to Top