Marc-Antoine Charpentier: Music for the Virgin Mary


Recorded in the beatiful church of Notre Dame, Rozay-en-Brie, by Concerto Delle Donne, this CD celebrates 300 years of Marc-Antoine Charpentier, whose works ranged from simple settings of hymns composed for unaccompanied solo voice to works of great complexity and virtuosity for soloists, double choir and double orchestra. Here, the focus is on the sacred works that Charpentier composed for two and three solo women’s voices. The three principal sopranos of of Concerto delle Donne all feature as soloists. Other composers included on this disc are Jean-Baptiste Lully, Nicholas-Antoine Lebègue & Guillame-Gabriel Nivers.

The singers’ delectably pure, sweet sound, rhythmic liveliness and stylish ornamentation perfectly capture the spirit of some beautiful and inventive music, ideally suited to its very specific purpose – The Daily Telegraph

Ravishing music draws some exquisite singing in response… [a] superb disc – Gramophone

There is much stunning music here… [an] essential for lovers of the most sublime composer of the French Baroque – Early Music America

These are charming performances of charming music. Warmly recommended – MusicWeb International

 iTUNES  Spotify

Concerto Delle Donne

Donna Deam, Faye Newton & Gill Ross

Miriam Allan, Caroline Ashton, Rachel Bevan, Jennie Cassidy, Charlotte Fairbairn & Ana Gabriela Schwedhelm sopranos

Alistar Ross organ / conductor 

RELEASE DATE: 01/02/2006
BARCODE: 635212007327

1. Prelude du cinquieme ton Lebegue

2. Antiphon Ave Regina coelorum H.19 Charpentier

3. Motet Sicut spina rosam H.309 Charpentier

4. Motet Gaude felix Anna H.319 Charpentier

5. Tierce en taille du deuxieme ton Lebegue

6. Antiphon Gabriel Angelus Nivers

7. Magnificat pour le Port Royal H.81 Charpentier

8. Antiphon Alma redemptoris mater H.21 Charpentier

9. Motet Frigidae noctis umbra totum H.421 Charpentier

10. In Nativitate Domini N(ost)ri Jesu Christi Canticum Lebegue

11. Noel: Ou s’en vont ces gays bergers? Attrib. Lully

12. Antiphon Salve Regina Nivers

13. Recit de cromorne du troisieme ton Charpentier

14. Sequence Stabat Mater pour les religieuses H.15 Nivers

15. Dialogue a deux choeurs du sixieme ton Charpentier

16. Antiphon Regina coeli laetare H.32 Charpentier

You may also like…

Go to Top