Mahler: Symphony No.6


Sometimes known as ‘The Tragic’ – a title suggested but then withdrawn by the composer – Mahler’s Sixth Symphony embodies much of the inner turmoil and superstition of its composer. Conceived at perhaps one of the happiest periods of Mahler’s life, it seems to foreshadow the personal tragedies that would later befall him – with his wife Alma writing that “The music and what it foretold touched us deeply.”

The brass are heroic and dauntingly present throughout – from the tuba that executes a fiendish trill in the finale to the clarion trumpets fan faring the doom-marches – BBC Music Magazine

This is a terrific Mahler 6… Where Gergiev achieves a generalised superficial excitement, Salonen’s closer consideration is more rewarding and repays more generously repeated listening – MusicWeb International

[Salonen’s] performance is purposeful and revealing – Classic FM Magazine

 iTUNES  Spotify

Philharmonia Orchestra

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

RELEASE DATE: 05/10/2011
BARCODE: 635212027523

Symphony No.6 in A minor

1. I. Allegro energico, ma non troppo

2. II. Scherzo. Wuchtig

3. III. Andante

4. IV. Finale. Allegro moderato – Allegro energico

You may also like…

Go to Top