Mahler: Symphonies Nos. 7-9


Lorin Maazel and the Philharmonia Orchestra perform Mahler’s Seventh, Eighth and Ninth Symphonies. This is the final set in Signum’s set of Mahler’s Nine Symphonies, featuring live orchestral recordings from London’s Royal Festival Hall of Maazel and the Philharmonia’s much- lauded Mahler Cycle.

CDs1&2 – Symphony No.7 Philharmonia Orchestra, Lorin Maazel

CDs3&4- Symphony No.8, Symphony of a Thousand: 
Sally Matthews Magna Peccatrix
Ailish Tynan Una pœnitentium
Sarah Tynan Mater Gloriosa
Sarah Connolly Mulier Samaritana
Anne-Marie Owens Maria Ægyptiaca
Stefan Vinke Doctor Marianus
Mark Stone Pater Ecstaticus
Stephen Gadd Pater Profundus
Philharmonia Voices & & BBC Symphony Chorus Choir 1
Philharmonia Chorus Choir 2
Boys of Eton College Chapel Choir
Philharmonia Orchestra, Lorin Maazel

CDs5&6 – Symphony No.9 Philharmonia Orchestra, Lorin Maazel

How the Philharmonia strings manage to sustain intensity in a mere thread of sound through those halting, valedictory final bars is something to marvel at – BBC Music Magazine

The stars of this performance are the choruses, who always sound crisp, clear and utterly engaged; they’re also wonderfully intense when it matters…there’s a rare sense of total connection here, of a profound musical experience gratefully shared. I was gripped to the very end MusicWeb International

Maazel could sustain this score in a way that seemed to transcend reality… a tremendously moving experience Classical Source

An extraordinary reading of the Ninth… a performance touched by greatness – MusicWeb International

 iTUNES  Spotify

Philharmonia Orchestra

RELEASE DATE: 07/09/2015
BARCODE: 635212036228

You may also like…

Go to Top