Internationally renowned soloist Lucille Chung performs a programme of virtuosic and beguiling works by Franz Liszt.

One of the first female students of the iconic Russian pianist Lazar Berman at the Academia Pianistica in Imola, Italy, Chung has won numerous awards for her performance’s of Liszt’s music, including the B minor Sonata that features on this programme. Lucille describes in her introduction to the programme how Berman “… for a time doubted that a diminutive lady with hands spanning a 9th (although I can now stretch a 10th on a good day) would ever succeed in playing Liszt well … Mr Berman came around.”

Renowned for her “blazing gutsy performance[s]” (The Washington Post), Lucille Chung has been acclaimed for her “stylish and refined performances” by Gramophone magazine, “combining vigour and suppleness with natural eloquence and elegance” (Le Soir).

 iTUNES  Spotify

Lucille Chung piano


BAR CODE 635212053324

RELEASE DATE 13/04/2018

01 Toccata, S.197a

02 Unstern! Sinistre, disastro, S.208

03 Wiegenlied (Chant du berceau), S.198

04 Bagatelle sans tonalité, S.216a

05 Abschied, russisches Volkslied, S.251

06 Resignazione, S.263/187a

07 Schlaflos! Frage und Antwort, S.203

08 Im Traum, S.207

09 Trübe Wolken (Nuages gris), S.199

10 Gretchen (from the Faust Symphony), S.513

11 Sonata in B Minor, S.178