Liszt: Excerpts from Annees de pelerinage, deuxieme annee: Italie S161


A second solo disc on Signum from an insightful Welsh pianist – this time focussing on virtuosic selections from Franz Liszt. Llyr Williams is an acclaimed soloist, accompanist and chamber musician; highly sought after as a performer in the United Kingdom, in 2012 he was awarded a South Bank Sky Arts Award for his Beethoven Sonata Cycle at Greyfriars Kirk in Edinburgh the previous year – where he performed all 32 sonatas in just two weeks!

Williams’s expansiveness with the great Benediction de Dieu dans la Solitude is balanced by the effortless manner in which he keeps it on the move. A superior album which is highly recommended – The Scotsman

In Bénédiction de Dieu he takes us into a different and majestic world. Those long melodic lines seem to lift and swell within vast surrounding spaces – BBC Music Magazine


 iTUNES  Spotify

Llyr Williams

RELEASE DATE: 30/09/2012
BARCODE: 635212029022

1. Tarantella from Venezia e Napoli, Supplement to Annees de pelerinage S161 Franz Liszt

Annees de pelerinage, deuxieme annee: Italie S161

Franz Liszt

2. No.3: Canzonetta del Salvator Rosa

3. No.4: Sonetto 47 del Petrarca

4. No.5: Sonetto 104 del Petrarca

5. No.6: Sonetto 123 del Petrarca

6. No.7: Apres une lecture du Dante, fantasia quasi sonata

7. Benediction de Dieu dans la solitude from Harmonies poetiques et religieuses S173 Franz Liszt

8. Isolden’s Liebestod S447 Richard Wagner, arr. Franz Liszt

You may also like…

Go to Top