Jonathan Dove: For an Unknown Soldier


 For An Unknown Soldier is a cantata of remembrance to mark the centenary of the First World War. Commissioned by the London Mozart Players, Jonathan Dove’s poignant work combines the words of war poets such as Wilfred Owen, William Noel Hodgson & Isaac Rosenberg with choral performances from tenor Nicky Spence, the Oxford Bach Choir and Portsmouth Grammar School Chamber Choir.

It is paired with the ensemble’s performance of Dove’s An Airmail Letter from Mozart, directed from the piano by Melvyn Tan.



London Mozart Players

Melvyn Tan Piano
Nicky Spence Tenor
Portsmouth Grammar School Chamber Choir
Oxford Bach Choir
Nicholas Cleobury Conductor


Release date:4th Nov 2016
Order code:SIGCD452
Barcode: 635212045220

  1. An Airmail Letter from Mozart: Theme & Variation I – Jonathan Dove – 3.17
  2. An Airmail Letter from Mozart: Variations II & III – Jonathan Dove – 3.53
  3. An Airmail Letter from Mozart: Variation IV – Jonathan Dove – 2.59
  4. An Airmail Letter from Mozart: Variations V, VI, VII, VIII – Jonathan Dove – 4.54
  5. For An Unknown Soldier: 1914 – Jonathan Dove – 4.09
  6. For An Unknown Soldier: The Poets are Waiting – Jonathan Dove – 1.50
  7. For An Unknown Soldier: The Call – Jonathan Dove – 3.57
  8. For An Unknown Soldier: Women at Munition Making – Jonathan Dove – 5.03
  9. For An Unknown Soldier: Before Action – Jonathan Dove – 6.54
  10. For An Unknown Soldier: Dead Man’s Dump – Jonathan Dove – 12.09
  11. For An Unknown Soldier: To His Love – Jonathan Dove – 4.38
  12. For An Unknown Soldier: The Wind on the Downs – Jonathan Dove – 5.37
  13. For An Unknown Soldier: An Imperial Elegy – Jonathan Dove – 5.59
Go to Top