JOHN JENKINS Complete four-part consort music


John Jenkins (1592-1678) is perhaps the most popular English composer of the great golden era of music for multiple viols, ranging from William Cornyshe in 1520 through to Henry Purcell in 1680. The reason why is not hard to fathom: a rare melodic gift is married to an exceptionally deep understanding of harmony and modulation, and effortless counterpoint gives each part an equal voice in the musical conversation. Fretwork perform Jenkins’ complete consort works for four-part viol ensemble, in a new recording that showcases this composer’s rich and diverse compositions.

A recital of sumptuous music superbly played. In a word: sublime – Classical Ear

A new recording that showcases the composer’s rich and diverse compositions – Northern Echo

Contemplative, spirited, mellifluous and free from overt drama, they offer apolitical, zen-like balm – The Observer

When played well, as in the case of these beautiful performances, John Jenkins’ work can be deeply satisfying and deserves to be heard more widely. Highly recommended – iClassical

Mellifluous and engaging, with a real sense of communication, this is delightful music, delightfully performed – Planet Hugill


 iTUNES  Spotify


RELEASE DATE: 02/03/2018


BARCODE: 635212052822

1. Fantasia No. 1

2. Fantasia No. 2

3. Fantasia No. 3

4. Fantasia No. 4

5. Pavan in D Minor

6. Fantasia No. 5

7. Fantasia No. 6

8. Fantasia No. 7

9. Fantasia No. 8

10. Fantasia No. 9

11. Fantasia No. 10

12. Fantasia No. 11

13. Fantasia No. 12

14. Fantasia No. 13

15. Fantasia No. 14

16. Pavan in E Minor

17. Fantasia No. 15

18. Fantasia No. 16

19. Fantasia No. 17

You may also like…

Go to Top