Dowland: First Booke of Songes or Ayres


Following her debut release of Baroque works by Vivaldi and Handel earlier this year, Grace Davidson returns to disc on Signum with an intimate disc of Dowland’s first book of lute songs, accompanied by David Miller. Blending melancholy with wit in his writing for both lute and voice, John Dowland’s songs have continued to enchant audiences and singers for nearly 400 years. The ‘First Booke’ includes some of Dowland’s less well-known works, and was recorded in the sensitive acoustic of Ascot Priory in Berkshire, UK.

Performance ★★★★ Recording ★★★★★ Dowland’s [works] find elegant interpreters here in Grace Davidson and David Miller – BBC Music Magazine

These are beautiful, musical performancesGramophone

 iTUNES  Spotify

Grace Davidson soprano

David Miller lute

RELEASE DATE: 02/11/2018


BARCODE: 635212055328

1. Unquiet Thoughts

2. Who Ever Thinks Or Hopes of Love for Love

3. My Thoughts Are Wing’d With Hopes

4. If My Complaints Could Passions Move

5. Can She Excuse My Wrongs with Virtue’s Cloak?

6. Now, Oh Now I Needs Must Part

7. Dear, If You Change, I’ll Never Choose Again

8. Burst Forth, My Tears

9. Go Crystal Tears

10. Think’st thou then by thy feigning

11. Come Away, Come Sweet Love

12. Rest A While, You Cruel Cares

13. Sleep, Wayward Thoughts

14. All Ye Whom Love or Fortune Hath Betray’d

15. Wilt Thou Unkind Thus Reave Me of My Heart?

16. Would My Conceit that First Enforc’d My Woe

17. Come Again, Sweet Love Doth Now Invite

18. His Golden Locks Time Hath to Silver Turned

19. Awake, Sweet Love, Thou Art Return’d

20. Come, Heavy Sleep

21. Away With These Self-Loving Lads

You may also like…

Go to Top