Joby Talbot: Path of Miracles & Owain Park: Footsteps


Tenebrae mark their 15th anniversary season with a celebratory re-release of Joby Talbot’s Path of Miracles, as well as the premiere recording of a new work by Owain Park.

Inspired by the Camino Frances pilgrimage route to Santiago de Compostela in Spain, Path of Miracles has quickly become a contemporary classic amongst choral music fans. To mark their anniversary year Tenebrae commissioned British composer Owain Park to compose his new work Footsteps as a companion piece to Path of Miracles. A shorter work, Footsteps is themed on similar concepts of travel, solitude and journeying, and blends texts by eight different authors to structure a narrative that cycles the seasons through the view of a lonely traveller.

Praise for the original release of Path of Miracles:

“After the eerie opening effect – a glissandi, Taiwanese style, bursting into the pilgrims hymn from Dum Pater Familias – you know you are about to embark on a remarkable musical journey … The music weaves together diverse themes and styles encompassing sparse, clear writing with subtle use of harmony portraying the text … It is a tour de force and absolutely stunning.” Choir and Organ

“… a real achievement.” International Record Review



NIGEL SHORT conductor


Release date: 21st April 2017
Order code: SIGCD471
Barcode: 635212047125

Track Listing


1  Footsteps: Owain Park

Featuring The Fellows of the National Youth Choirs of Great Britain

Path of Miracles: Joby Talbot


2  Roncesvalles


3  Burgos


4  Leon


5  Santiago