J.S. Bach: Sonatas for Viola da Gamba


It is not difficult to discern many of the elements that render Bach’s three sonatas for viola da gamba and harpsichord so remarkable by the standards of their age: a mixing of virtually every conceivable genre, form, style, medium and gesture of the late German Baroque; a forging of connections that had not hitherto been made; a penetrating insight into the multi-dimensional potentialities of each motive, theme and polyphonic complex.

Composing for the viol in this way was by, the early eighteenth century, archaic, yet what has made J.S.Bach a summit for many is his apparent ability to transcend historical contingency, somehow to stop the clock of outward progress and to rearrange and recreate the world as he knew it.


Alison Crum & Laurence Cummings

RELEASE DATE: 03/04/2000
BARCODE: 63521200242

Sonata in G major, BWV 1027

1. Adagio

2. Allegro ma non tanto

3. Andante

4. Allegro Moderato

5. Prelude in G major, BWV 860

6. Fugue in G major, BWV 860

Sonata in D major, BWV 1028

7. Adagio

8. Allegro

9. Andanta

10. Allegro

11. Prelude in D major, BWV 850

12. Fugue in D major, BWV 850

Sonata in G minor, BWV 1029

13. Vivace

14. Adagio

15. Allegro

16. Prelude in G minor, BWV 861

17. Fugue in G minor, BWV 861

You may also like…

Go to Top