J.S. BACH: The Solo Soprano Cantatas, Vol. 1


Soprano Gillian Keith joins the acclaimed Baroque ensemble Armonico Consort under Christopher Monks for the first release in a three disc series featuring the solo cantatas of Johann Sebastian Bach.

Bach’s cantatas hold a special place amongst performers and devotees of his music. Whether sacred or secular, these works provide incredible variety for listeners and players alike. Some contain elements of storytelling similar to arias and recitatives from his great Passions; many have instrumental movements and solo passages that rival any of his concerti, and are indeed borrowed directly from some of the most famous. Not surprisingly, Bach’s cantatas are often incredibly virtuosic, demanding as much technical ability, style and understanding of the music as any of his other works.

This first release features the cantatas nos. 82a, 202 (the famous “Wedding Cantata”) and 210.

 iTUNES  Spotify

Gillian Keith soprano

Armonico Consort

Christopher Monks director

RELEASE DATE: 26/05/2017
BARCODE: 635212048825

Cantata, BWV 82a “Ich habe genug”

1. I. Aria: Ich habe genug

2. II. Recitative: Ich habe genug

3. III. Aria: Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen

4. IV. Recitative: Mein Gott! wann kömmt das schöne: Nun!

5. V. Aria: Ich freue mich auf meinen Tod

Cantata, BWV 202 “Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten”

6. I. Aria: Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten

7. II. Recitative: Die Welt wird wieder neu

8. III. Aria: Phoebus eilt mit schnellen Pferden

9. IV. Recitative: Drum sucht auch Amor sein Vergnügen

10. V. Aria: Wenn die Frühlingslüfte streichen

11. VI. Recitative: Und dieses ist das Glücke

12. VII. Aria: Sich üben im Lieben

13. VIII. Recitative: So sei das Band der keuschen Liebe

14. IX. Aria: sehet in Zufriedenheit

Cantata, BWV 210 “O holder Tag, erwünschte Zeit”

15. I. Recitative: O holder Tag, erwünschte Zeit

16. II. Aria: Spielet, ihr beseelten Lieder

17. III. Recitative: Doch, haltet ein, ihr muntern Saiten

18. IV. Aria: Ruhet hie, matte Töne

19. V. Recitative: So glaubt man denn, dass die Musik verführe

20. VI. Aria: Schweigt, ihr Flöten, schweigt, ihr Töne

21. VII. Recitative: Was Luft? was Grab?

22. VIII. Aria: Großer Gönner, dein Vergnügen

23. IX. Recitative: Hochteurer Mann, so fahre ferner fort

24. X. Aria: Seid beglückt, edle Beide

You may also like…

Go to Top