Italian Inspirations


Alessio Bax plays an Italian inspired programme, picking his favourite pieces taken from a rich history of music from one of the most romantic countries in the world.

He opens the programme with a J.S. Bach transcription of a oboe concerto by Venetian composer Alessandro Marcello, which reveals a deep insight into Bach’s mind. This is followed by Rachmaninov’s last ever work for solo piano, which is incredibly eloquent, introspective and personal. The Dallapiccola continues this eloquent theme, showing some beautifully crafted dodecaphonism. The recording is rounded off with two pieces of Liszt, which take the listener on a multi-legged journey through hell, purgatory and heaven, with beauty and drama along the way.


All downloads include booklets.

 iTUNES  Spotify

Alessio Bax – Piano

Release date: 07/02/20

Catalogue number: SIGCD611

Barcode: 635212061121

Concerto in D minor after Alessando Marcello, BWV 974
J.S. Bach (1685-1750)
1. I. Andante Spiccato
2. II. Adagio
3. III. Presto

Variations on a Theme of Corelli, Op. 42
Sergei Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
4. Theme
5. Variation I
6. Variation II
7. Variation III
8. Variations IV & V
9. Variation VI
10. Variation VII
11. Variation VIII
12. Variation IX
13. Variation X
14. Variation XI
15. Variation XII
16. Variation XIII
17. Intermezzo
18. Variation XIV
19. Variation XV
20. Variation XVI

21. Variation XVII
22. Variation XVIII
23. Variation XIX
24. Variation XX
25. Coda

Quaderno musicale di Annalibera
Luigi Dallapiccola (1904-1975)
26. I. Simbolo
27. II. Accenti
28. III. Contrapunctus primus
29. IV. Linee
30. V. Contrapunctus secondus
31. VI. Fregi
32. VII. Andantino amorose e contrapunctus tertius
33. VIII. Ritmi
34. IX. Colore
35. X. Ombre
36. XI. Quartina

37. St. François d’Assise: La prédication aux oiseaux, S.175 No. 1
Franz Liszt (1811-1886)
38. Après une Lecture du Dante: Fantasia quasi sonata, S. 161 No. 7
Franz Liszt

You may also like…

Go to Top