In Recital at Tulle Cathedral: Graham Ashton & Michael Matthes


An exceptional programme from two consummate performers, blending new arrangements of classical and baroque works with the premiere recording of Roger Steptoe’s Sonata for Trumpet and Organ.

Graham Ashton is professor of Trumpet at Purchase Collage, New York, and as a performer over the past 25 years has given over 200 master classes and recitals in 21 different countries, recording for Signum, Nimbus, Virgin Classics and many more. Michael Matthes is a similarly esteemed performer – a tenured organist of the Cathedral of Troyes, France and a recipient of the prestigious French Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in recognition of his services to music.

Praise for Graham Ashton’s previous recordings on Signum: 

“succeeds on every level: extraordinary musicianship, clear and sonorous recorded sound, fresh and interesting repertoire.”

The Brass Player (New York) (SIGCD504)

"A really worth-while extension of the brass ensemble repertoire… Recommended unreservedly." 

Musical pointers (SIGCD099)



What people are saying


Graham Ashton trumpet

Michael Matthes organ

Release date:26th Mar 2012
Order code:SIGCD306
Barcode: 635212030622

Choir and Organ, July/ August 2012

From the first notes of music by the 15th-century Jewish Italian composer, Pesaro, the plangent trumpet playing of Graham Ashton and colourful organ registration of Michael Matthes produces a captivating ensemble. The 3-manual instrument, originally the work of English builder John Abbey, has had several rebuilds, the latest and most successful by French builder Bertrand Cattiaux in 2002. Arrangements of baroque works here contrast with Roger Steptoe’s fresh Sonata for Trumpet and Organ, which, with it’s perceptible influenceo of Hindemith, concludes this enjoyable disc.

Matthew Power

  1. Falla con misuras – Guglielmo Ebreo da Pesaro, arr. Graham Ashton – 1.35
  2. Toccata in E minor – Johann Pachelbel – 2.05
  3. Parts upon a Ground – Henry Purcell, arr. Graham Ashton – 2.45
  4. Toccata in G minor – Johann Pachelbel – 2.03
  5. Sonata in F op.1, No.12: i. Adagio – George Frideric Handel, arr. Graham Ashton – 1.56
  6. Sonata in F op.1, No.12: ii. Allegro – George Frideric Handel, arr. Graham Ashton – 2.32
  7. Sonata in F op.1, No.12: iii. Largo – George Frideric Handel, arr. Graham Ashton – 1.51
  8. Sonata in F op.1, No.12: iv. Allegro – George Frideric Handel, arr. Graham Ashton – 5.49
  9. Toccata and Fugue in D minor – Johann Sebastian Bach – 8.48
  10. Fantasia Upon a Ground after Purcell – Graham Ashton – 6.00
  11. Carillon de Westminster – Louis Vierne – 7.01
  12. Sonata for Trumpet and Organ: i. Bells – Roger Steptoe – 3.31
  13. Sonata for Trumpet and Organ: ii. Pipes – Roger Steptoe – 4.32
  14. Sonata for Trumpet and Organ: iii. Song for a new world – Roger Steptoe – 2.47
  15. Sonata for Trumpet and Organ: iv. Fanfares – Roger Steptoe – 5.00