How Fair Thou Art


The King’s Singers return with a new early-music recording that features 12 of Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina’s beautiful polyphonic choral settings of the ‘Canticum Canticorum’ – better known as ‘The Song of Songs’ or Canticles, a collection of poetry in the Hebrew Bible on the theme of the joy and ecstasy of human love. These settings are framed by four of Palestrina’s Marian motets, works in honour of the Virgin Mary which he composed throughout his life.

This recording is the first to feature performances from the group’s new tenor Julian Gregory.

An admirably cool approach The Observer

At it’s best – The King’s Singers’ sweetness of tone seems perfectly to match the sense of the text – Gramophone

Wonderful music beautifully delivered – The Northern Echo

They sing in a beautifully blended style with individual voices often subsumed into the overall sound image. These performances have a significant amount of surface polish, poise and style, technically they are very impressive – Planet Hugill

Admirers of The King’s Singers will certainly not be disappointedMusicWeb International

 iTUNES  Spotify

The King’s Singers

RELEASE DATE: 04/03/2016
BARCODE: 635212045022

1. Alma redemptoris mater

2. Quam pulchri sunt gressus tui

3. Pulchrae sunt genae tuae

4. Tota pulchra es anima mea

5. Nigra sum, sed Formosa

6. Regina Caeli

7. Trahe me, post te

8. Veni, veni delicte mi

9. Surge, propera amica mea

10. Descendi in hortum meum

11. Ave regina caelorum

12. Sicut lilium inter spinas

13. Osculetur me

14. Ecce tu pulcher es

15. Sicut lilium inter spinas

16. Salve Regina

You may also like…

Go to Top