Guillaume de Machaut: Motets & Music from The Ivrea Codex


Signum is delighted to announce the debut disc of the Gramophone Award winning Clerks’ Group on Signum Records.

This disc is a programme of 14th-century motets and mass movements represents two of the most important sources of French medieval music.

The Ivrea Codex now lives in the Chapter library of the cathedral of Ivrea, a small town in the foothills of the Italian Alps, south of the modern ski resort of Aosta (home to an important 15th-century music manuscript). This may seem an unexpected area in which to find major sources of medieval music, but in fact the position of these towns on one of the main routes across the Alps between France and Italy readily explains their importance in the Middle Ages. They lay on roads that linked centres of power, and accordingly they grew in importance themselves, sustaining cathedrals with musical traditions that provided a natural home for collections of sophisticated polyphony.

The ensemble’s blend is excellent and the recording is to be recommended, even to those among us who would not count themselves medieval enthusiasts – Classic FM Magazine

An excellent release and a valuable addition to the discography – Choir & Organ

The Clerks’ Group is already well-known for championing neglected Renaissance repertoire, and its cunning programming enriches its fresh performances – The Evening Standard

 iTUNES  Spotify

The Clerks’ Group
Edward Wickham director

RELEASE DATE: 01/03/1999
BARCODE: 63521200112

1. Sanctus: Sanans fragilia Anon/ Ivrea 

2. Kyrie ‘Chipre’/ Ivrea

3. Gloria: Et verus homo Anon/ Ivrea

4. Dame/ Fins cuers doulz Machaut

5. Trop plus est bele/ Biaute paree de valour Machaut 

6. Lasse!/Se j’aim mon loyal ami Machaut 

7. Credo Anon/ Ivrea

8. Tu qui gregem/ Plange, regni respublica Machaut 

9. Christe qui lux/ Veni creator spiritus Machaut 

10. Felix virgo/ Inviolata genitrix Machaut

11. Sanctus Anon/ Ivrea 

12. Clap, clap/Sus Robin Anon/ Ivrea

13. Qui es promesse/ Ha! Fortune Machaut 

14. Martyrum/ Diligenter inquiramus Machaut

15. Amours/ Faus samblant Machaut 

16. Post missarum sollempnia/ Post misse modulamina Anon/ Ivrea 

You may also like…

Go to Top